Faith in the Attic: How One Catholic Mother Turned Her Attic Space into a Chapel

Click the link to see the amazing transformation from attic to in-home chapel, readers:

Our In-Progress At Home Painted Chapel, aka how I spent my summer vacation

by Kendra | Nov 14, 2018 | Gramblewood | 22 comments

I keep waiting to be finished with the chapel to share it here, but I keep NOT being finished with it, and I’m tired of waiting. I made a ton of progress on it over the summer, but now that the homeschool year is going and with all the conference and book launch stuff going on, not much has changed in the past month or so. It’s in a useable state now though, and I’m so happy in there. So, I figured I’d give you guys a look at it so far, and the process that got it there.

The chapel started out as an upstairs storage room off of what was the servant’s quarters in our 1920-built home. It had shiplap. And a chin up bar.

And this great cathedral ceiling. The first time we toured the house, the husband and I just knew this room needed to be a chapel.

During the major renovations on the house before we moved in, we had a period stained glass window and light fixture installed. The window features St. Anne and Mary and was from a church in England. I found it on eBay. The light fixture was from a local architectural salvage.

Read more…

One thought on “Faith in the Attic: How One Catholic Mother Turned Her Attic Space into a Chapel

Leave a comment