A Long Time Ago, In a Galaxy Far, Far Away….

Image result for a new hope

There is a reason why this author refers to the original Star Wars film trilogy fairly often in her articles. When I was small, my father and I used to play a little game which we still return to every now and then. He would cover his mouth with one hand, breathe deeply a couple of times, and say, “You are part of the Rebel Alliance and a traitor. Take her away!” At other times he would say, “Caroline, I am your father!”

He did this fairly often when this author was around two or three years old. Naturally, at that age, the references flew over my head. But I could tell it was a game, and as a game this writer enjoyed it immensely. Then, at four years old I think, I started questioning where the phrases came from. My father was obviously quoting something but I didn’t know what it was.

It was probably in response to those questions that my father pulled out the restored 1997 copy of A New Hope. I vaguely remember my mother protesting that it would be too adult for me while my father insisted that I would be fine and that it would be good for me. He was right – on both the personal and the professional level, as we would discover later. Once the opening scrawl for the film appeared, this author fell in love with Star Wars.

The heroes were the biggest attraction, of course. What young girl hasn’t dreamed of being Princess Leia, at least briefly? I not only wanted to use a blaster, the way that she did, I wanted friends like Han, Luke, R2, and Chewie. (C-3PO was such a blabbermouth that he never really earned any appreciation from me.) Despite the fact that this author has reached adulthood, she still desperately wants to pilot an X-wing fighter. And earning the use of a lightsaber would be the icing on the cake.

The impact this franchise has had on my life and career is inestimable. The first novel this author wrote was a space opera – and, even though it didn’t work out well, the story has never been far from her thoughts. God has plans for it too, apparently, because a year ago a new way of presenting this tale occurred to me when I asked the Almighty for help creating a good space opera. He pointed me back to this original idea and, while it still needs quite a bit of work, it appears to be shaping up nicely.

Of course, a love of Star Wars did not preclude this writer from enjoying other “space operas.” Though I do not remember it well, I saw the Dune miniseries when it aired on the Sci-Fi (now SyFy) channel, and I intend to read the novel soon. In fits and starts this author is working through A Princess of Mars, which is proving to be quite instructive. Though this may get her in trouble with some Edgar Rice Burroughs’ fans, the film John Carter really entertained her, too. And some of the science fiction stories written by Andre Norton which I have read could conceivably fall under the “space opera” umbrella.

If you have any space opera recommendations, readers, I am open to exploring this genre more. Keep in mind, though, that I may not be able to read them all in a timely fashion. I still have a lot of writing to do, and – sadly – that limits the amount of time I have to read recreationally (and for research purposes!). Still, if it sounds good, I will make an attempt to hunt it down and read it.

As you may have guessed from this post, you can expect some space operas from this author’s pen in the future. Keep an eye on me and the prayers coming please, readers. Because if I cannot actually fly a World War II type fighter in space, I am going to write about characters who can! 😉

14 thoughts on “A Long Time Ago, In a Galaxy Far, Far Away….

  1. Great post! You’ve nailed that sense of wonder the original Star Wars trilogy had and hooked so many of us in the first place. None of the movies since Return of the Jedi come close to capturing that spirit.

    I can’t wait for your own space opera! As far as recommendations, it sounds like you’re already familiar with my two suggestions (Dune and A Princess Of Mars . . . and I do want to see the John Carter movie someday). Have you read the entire Dune saga, or just book one?

    I confess this isn’t a genre I’m all that familiar with. For an indie space opera series that’s quite good and entertaining, check out the Soul Cycle by Brian Niemeier. You might enjoy that if you like Star Wars, Dune, and so on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Alex! As I stated in the post, I haven’t read the first Dune book yet. I plan to do so in a little bit (relatively speaking… ☺), but the series is definitely on my radar. I follow Niemeier, too, and I want to give the Soul Cycle a try someday.

      The John Carter movie is very well done. As I have discovered while reading the book, though, it takes some liberties with the novel. Nonetheless, I think it is still well worth watching.

      In regards to the space opera, I can’t wait to show it to everyone, either! It and a couple of others still have some details that need working out, but they’re developing nicely. Slower than I’d like, but then, maybe that will save us all from a rerun of the Prequels… 😬

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I regret I have only one upvote…
    So:
    Dune! Yes! You might also want to check out the 1982 movie, which although admittedly strange (really, really, REALLY WEIRD) in parts, is still strong on the epic and grandeur portions.
    Something I will also recommend which may be a little obscure is: the Starwolf trilogy by Edmund Hamilton. This is about the adventures of a Morgan Chane, man who was raised by, basically, alien vikings, and who, cast out of their ranks, joins Merc captain John Dulilo. These books are excellent. Sense of wonder, check; action, check; mighty deeds (Chane doesn’t quite rise to the level of “heroic” until late in the game); and as a bonus, a memorable heroine in book 2.
    For straight-up military space opera, the Lost Fleet series and its Beyond the Border sequel by Jack Campbell is quite good.

    Very much looking forward to whatever is coming our way….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Riders! I’ve encountered Jack Campbell’s Lost Fleet series briefly, but I never really realized it was space opera. Your other suggestions look great and I will start looking into them soon. (I hope…) ☺

      Like

  3. This post has made me rethink a prejudice I didn’t even realize I had.

    I thought, “How dare she say that Dune is Space Opera!” and when I asked myself why my internal reaction was so strong I realized that it was because I think of Space Opera as being childish and simple.

    Star Wars came out at a time when I was discovering New Wave SF, discovering writers like Samuel Delany, Philip Dick, William Burroughs, and George Alec Effinger. I enjoyed the first film but I was intensely disappointed by The Empire Strikes Back–I felt like I had just sat through a 90 minute toy commercial. In hindsight I can see that a lot of my reaction was an adolescent “I’m too cool for kid stuff” pose, but I’ll admit, I still hate Yoda. I hate Yoda a lot. When Jar Jar Binks was unleashed on the world and I saw everyone’s reactions, that’s how I felt about Yoda.

    But I digress.

    If I get past my “Space Opera is kid stuff that I’m too cool to like” reaction, then, okay, I’m willing to accept Dune is Space Opera–that is to say, a story in which classical Fantasy elements are presented in a Science Fiction context.

    In fact, looking at it that way, the book I am currently rereading (for the n!th time) is most likely Space Opera–Samuel Delany’s Nova. Highly recommended, a very poetic novel that deals with interstellar travel and cybernetics in acutely practical ways, and is based around a duel to the death (or worse) between two very compelling characters.

    I’d also add Michael Swanwick’s Vacuum Flowers and Bruce Sterling’s Scizmatrix–both set inside the solar system, but containing terraformed moons easily as exotic as any worlds in far flung galaxies.

    By my new definition, Roger Zelazny wrote Space Opera–Lord Of Light, Creatures Of Light And Darkness, Isle Of The Dead, To Die In Italbar.

    Oh, and check out Jo Clayton’s Skeen’s Leap trilogy, if you can find it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Well, he was obviously a muppet and his voice was Frank Oz, who did Fozzy Bear on The Muppet Show. So I couldn’t hear his voice without thinking of Fozzy Bear. Also the Germanic word sentence structure schtick was annoying (although, interestingly enough, Delany uses it in Nova, which I recommended above, and it doesn’t bother me there.)

        Mostly, I think it was just that he was so obviously a puppet that bothered me, although I also found the character to be silly.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmm. Maybe it would have been better if they had cast a midget in the roll rather than Frank Oz? That might have been less annoying while keeping the context of the story intact.

        Like

    1. Huh. I’d never thought about Dune *not* being space opera. The only other genre that it seems that it could be, and I think that a strong case could be made for, is Planetary Romance–the exotic locales, the futuristic yet feudal societies, and the fact that everybody fights with knives. And yet, the SF elements predominate: there is an empire because of the Butlerian Jihad, and the use of blade weapons is because of personal shields.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is no heresy to enjoy the John Carter movie, I enjoyed it myself, even if they did mess up Dejah Thoris a little. Space Opera wise, I sort of recommend the Saga of the Seven Suns by Kevin Anderson, just for the fact that he got it written over a long time wtih a decent amount of depth and, of course, John C. Wright’s Count to a trillion series. Mote in God’s eye. I’m blessed with few choices but high quality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a relief – thanks! Mote in God’s Eye may be in my library somewhere; I’ll have to double check. Seven Suns – Why do I think I’ve heard of that before? I’ll look that one up. Sounds good! 😃

      Like

Leave a comment